To Mordor I will Take You

While browsing the “interwebs” for…well…anything, I stumbled upon a post about Black Raven Foundry wraiths and the lament that they were closer to 1/72 scale than 15mm.  What’s this you say?  The third picture in his post tells the whole story.  The Germanic warrior is, according to PSR, is 24mm tall.  So, last Thursday, I took a chance and made a purchase.  One bag of wraiths and another bag with the fell beast and Witch-King was ordered.  I figured the mounted and the witch king would size up too small.  Boy how wrong I was.

A selection posed with a MiniArt Mounted germanic Warrior, a HaT Frankish warrior and a Caesar Miniatures adventurer knight.

Not exactly perfect but here is a look at the figures for scale.

I am quite happy with the footmen and their size.  They are perhaps 23mm tall and seem to fit well with other figures.  I am pleasantly surprised with the mounted and how good they look against the mounted warrior.  Understand that MiniArt Germanic Warriors were a bit robust and slightly larger than the other 1/72 ranges.  So, though the “nightmares” are slightly smaller, in all likelihood, they will match with many other ranges.   I’d been looking for suitable wraith figures for my LotR collection.  Those interested can find them here and here.  A bag of each will run you about $30 with postage.  Expected delivery in the US is probably about a week or less.

2 Responses to To Mordor I will Take You

  1. Dave says:

    Neat stuff. Are those Armoured cars 3d printed??

  2. acarhj says:

    Thanks! Hope to have the Nazgul’s painted soon. Re: Armored cars, I bought them from the marketplace on TMP. I believe they are Britannia/Grubby Tanks. All resin. Nice models really. They do require a bit of sanding but not so much as to be a hassle.

Leave a comment