PRESTAGS Custom Maps

I was fortunate enough to find a copy of PRESTAGS MasterPack for under $150 on EBay. It was missing the Spartan and Legion games. Fortunately, I had both. The gentleman selling the game actually recreated all the pieces and the counters were silhouettes instead of the usual horse heads and weapons.

The maps are large and leave a bit to be desired. Scenarios actually only use a small part of each map. I’ve come up with an idea to create custom maps. My source for terrain is based on the map drawings in Dr. Sabin’s Lost Battles book. Here are the first two maps: Marathon and Platea. Both can be played on a US Letter sized piece of paper.

Marathon.  Both armies start within three hexes of their respective baselines. Athenians on top and Persians on the bottom.

Platea. Greeks may deploy up to 6 hexes from their baseline. Persians setup on their baseline. Athenians are on top and Persians are on the bottom.

Marathon is a set piece battle. My standard rules is that no army can setup within 3 hexes of either flanking board edge and usually up to 3 hexes in from the base line.  The Persian Camp should be within a hex of the Bay of Marathon.

With Platea, the Greek armies can setup on either of the two forward hills but still cannot setup within 3 hexes of the left flank board edge.  The Persian armies will enter from the bottom of the board on Turn 1 after the Greeks have setup.

Maps printed at 90dpi should give something close to the 3/4″ hex that SPI used on their map.  It will nicely fit the 1/2″ counters.

This is my first post since WordPress messed with their editor. I can’t say I am a fan. They have automatic blocks. I am use to formatting everything myself. I need to figure out how to get the editor back into the previous mode…if that is even possible.

5 Responses to PRESTAGS Custom Maps

  1. steventhomasnz says:

    Wow. I used to play prestags a lot as a kid with my father. Cool idea with the custom maps.

    yes you can revert to the original WP editor. I did immediately because the new one, well, sucks. Install the “Classic Editor” Plugin.

  2. Ken Fisher says:

    Thanks for another rabbit hole to dig through. 😁 I spent the day digging through the web looking up rules, icons, crts and seeing what I need to do a print and play of this. Looks like it’ll be a lot of fun!

  3. acarhj says:

    Thanks, Steve. You can also look at “all posts” and then use the drop down menu at the top of the page to select create post with the classic editor.

  4. acarhj says:

    If you all are looking for the various rules, you can find them here. https://www.spigames.net/rules_downloads.htm Just search the page for the various rules, including the main rules.

  5. Ken Fisher says:

    Got the main rules downloaded, along with Spartan, Legion, Viking and Yeoman extras. I found a QRS under the chariot rules. I also printed and cut enough counters to play Zama and see what the game is like, just need to figure out how big of a map to use. Looking forward to giving it a go.

Leave a comment