Back from Southern Front

For those that don’t know, Southern Front is a small convention held every fall in Raleigh, North Carolina.  The conventrion has a usual attendance of just under 100 people.  There are usually a half dozen games going on at any one time and there are usually several dealers for you to spend your money on.  If you are within a few hours, I highly recommend this convention, if only for the nice ladies and gentlemen who attend.  Below is a selection of games that were played this weekend.

Arab Slavers attack some cultists who are trying to use the heroin as a sacrifice. Yeah. Everyone has their faults. Don’t judge! The game played was Astounding tales by Howard Whitehouse. Highly recommended!

Another view. Chinese underground and Chicago Mafia being ambushed by various denizens.

A racing game. Note how far I was ahead before I spun out. I could have won this one by downshifting to 4th gear but I kept my promise to run the whole race in 5th gear. And I would have made it too if wit weren’t for

Snake Oiler came within a car length of winning and besting his rival Speed Racer but it was Speed managed second place while Speed Buggy took the checkered flag.

Tron themed game. This one was very clever. Perhaps a little slow playing but quite fun never the less. It was programs vs the computer. We didn’t make it to the central processing unit.

A grand view of the desert town. The GMs left this setup all weekend. The racing game, an El Cid game and a Conan game, a Zombiecyde game and a Conan game were all played on this board. The GM used kabob skewers to help denote the movement zones.

Here are some pictures of other games played that I did not participate in or know little about.  Very nice terrain setups.

A WW I game

I did play in this one! Faction based objectives. Great fun!

Le feu Sacre I think.

The purchases for the weekend. A friend gave me 7 Reveresco “28mm” knights. They are absolutely closer to 1/72 scale.

Foreign Legion battle.

Going Medieval This appeared to be a Norman v Saxon fight..

Harlequins on bikes?

Pointe du Hoc. Note the nice looking card model Higgins boats. This was a pretty nice looking game.

Another Medieval or Ancients game.  I took the shot for the layout but the battle looks quite nice!

Traffic was bit slow going both ways from home to the con and back.  I had a great time but was happy to be home when it was all done.  Looking forward to next year.

 

One Response to Back from Southern Front

  1. steventhomasnz says:

    I have a good friend who lives in Raleigh. I’ll try to get him to Southern Front next year.

Leave a comment