Quatre Bras using Featherstone’s Rules Pt 1

My old gaming friend has landed back in the area, hopefully for good.  he has expressed interest in doing some miniature gaming again.  I’ve been toying with the idea of using a modified version of Featherstone’s Horse and Musket rules from here on out.  They are simple and give a good game which is what most of my gaming friends want these days.  I have enough figures based and ready to go so we can test all the finer points and modifications.  Among these points are a completely revamped morale system.  One roll determines the fate of the unit in question.  Most of the other changes are minor tweaks to make combat a little less deadly.

“So what does this have to do with Quatre Bras?” you ask.  Well, my ultimate goal is to make a stylized game for the battle.  Each unit will be a Brigade sized unit of 24 figures.  Light infantry are outlyers and will be represented by 12 figure “regiments.”  Cavalry will also be represented by 12 figures.  Finally, artillery represent 2 batteries represented by a single stand and 4 gunners.

The game will be stylized in that, although each unit is a brigade, they will behave like battalions for combat, forming up in squares columns of assault and so forth.  Most of the figures in my collection are minifigs 15mm painted by several of my friends, and I some 38 years ago.

Infantry are based at 3/8″ per figure.  I am putting them on stands of 3 with a single split stand of 2 and 1 figures to make change for casualties.  Cavalry are based at 1/2″ on stands of 2.  Artillery are based on 40mm square stands.

 

2 Responses to Quatre Bras using Featherstone’s Rules Pt 1

  1. Howdy,

    Are you using 25mm Minifigs or 15mm? I have a LOT of 25mm figs that I can paint up for something like this. I’ve tried to sell them; no takers (except for a few here and there). Years ago, Minifigs were IT–now they’re generally considered a relic of yesteryear. Hmmm–a lot like me…

    Chris

  2. acarhj says:

    Hi Chris,
    Shame they are 25mm. Mine are all 15mm. 😦 I still love these figures. I’d happily buy More of the old style figures.
    John

Leave a Reply

