Got Trees?

JTT HO Trees

JTT HO Trees

Our hobby can be expensive.  These days, it is hard to find inexpensive terrain.  I have noticed tree manufacturers are still selling, but at a premium price.  There was a kickstarter not long ago for a company called “War Trees“.  They were making resin trees ready for the battlefield.  The pine trees did not look like much but the deciduous trees looked like they would do.  The problem was that each tree cost about $4US.   Sadly, the funding was unsuccessful as they did not generate any interest.

The other day, I was up near a local hobby shop and popped in to see what they had in their model railroad scenery.  I found a bulk back of 24 HO scale trees (3″-4″ tall) for about $30.  This was the best deal I had seen in a long time.  I decided to take a chance.  The trees are made from natural material and come with small plastic bases.  The bases are inadequate to hold the tree up reliably on their own.  So some wider bases will have to be manufactured.  The plastic bases can still be utilized as they are molded to look like the roots at the base of the tree.  The flocking on the tree also seems to shed pretty easily.  I remedied this by giving each tree a generous coat of dull coat.  I am not finished basing them yet…who am I kidding!  I have not even got them started!  I’ll post some pictures when I get them done.  There are also other bags of 36 N-Scale trees (2″-3″) and 55 micro scale (1″-2”) for the same price.  Company website is here.

 

3 Responses to Got Trees?

  1. As I tell m wife “you can never have too many trees!” I am also looking out for bargains – looks like you have found a good one. I have dabbled in ordering from Chinese websites and may go there again. The last couple of lots have been fine, except for the fact the cat chews on them if I have them out so now some of them look a bit bare.

  2. acarhj says:

    Preach, brother Shaun! Tell them like it is! I will probably buy another 24 after I get these done. I want enough to do a convincing forest on the game table…say 4’X4′.

  3. Jon Freitag says:

    I have ordered from JTT several times but I usually go for their smaller, z-scale versions. Great products.

Leave a Reply

