Two offerings from Der Kampfflieger.

From another company called Der Kampfflieger, I have for you a British Dingo Scout Car and a German Panzer Jager I.  Both come in 1/72 scale so sizing does not need to be done.  Both models were easy to build but both had their problems.

The scout car is only about 1.25″ long.  That is problem enough!  Everything about the card was pretty straight forward.  There was one part of the fender that was printed on the wrong side.  Nothing that a touch of bleached bone paint couldn’t cure though.

The Panzer Jager I was easy except for the gun assembly.  I ended up building the gun barrel out of plastic and adding the muzzle break from a bit of toothpick.

Dingo Scout Car and Panzer Jager I.

Dingo Scout Car and Panzer Jager I.

Dingo Scout Car and Panzer Jager I Side.  The scout car wheels are on loose.  Notice the back wheel is slightly "off".  The axle went in crooked.  I am probably going to remove it and adjust.

Dingo Scout Car and Panzer Jager I Side. The scout car wheels are on loose. Notice the back wheel is slightly “off”. The axle went in crooked. I am probably going to remove it and adjust.

The inner works of the PZJgr-I.  The model was pretty easy to build but the gun was a pit of a pain.  I could not roll the barrels so I ended up getting two sizes of plastic rod from the local hobby shop.  1/16" is the top rod and something smaller is the bottom.  The gun is not exact but is close enough.  The bell at the end of the gun is cut from the end of a round toothpick.

The inner works of the PZJgr-I. The model was pretty easy to build but the gun was a pit of a pain. I could not roll the barrels so I ended up getting two sizes of plastic rod from the local hobby shop. 1/16″ is the top rod and something smaller is the bottom. The gun is not exact but is close enough. The bell at the end of the gun is cut from the end of a round toothpick.

Again, the models were quite inexpensive at about $3.00 each from E-card Models.  Print and build as many as you like!  The Dingo took about 2.5 hours to build but the PzJgr-I took something along the lines of 6.5 hours.  Good thing I don’t need to many of those!  As with any photography, some of the imperfections immediately showed up in the shots.  I assure you, the tanks look way better in person, especially from 3 feet away.

Panzer Jager I

Daimler Dingo Scout Car

Leave a Reply

